27 September 2011

"Songs from the Heart" 2001 CD anthology

This is a CD compilation mainly featuring songs of the very early folk stalwarts of American Folk Music such as Woody Guthrie, Dave van Ronk, Elizabeth Cotton, Cisco Houston and Leadbelly (Huddie Leadbetter) but also featuring the later comers Phil Ochs and Mike Seeger.
The notes to the CD give a very apt description:-

The History of American Folk Music taps the mother lode of American folk music - Appalachian ballads, folk blues, mountain music, gospel songs, topical commentaries, protest songs and rootsy hybrids. Banjo pickers rub shoulders with blues guitarists, high lonesome hillbilly wailers with earnest protest singers, country blues gals holler next to old timey revivalists.

There would not have been any folk revival without many of these musicians providing the basic foundation for the later performers.  All good clean tracks.

Track List:
1. This land is your land - Woody Guthrie
2. Down South - Dock Boggs
3. Freight Train - Elizabeth Cotton
4. Darlin' Cora - Mike Seeger
5. Twelve Gates to the City - Dave van Ronk
6. House of the Rising Sun - Roscoe Holcomb
7. Linin' Track - Leadbelly
8. In my Time of Dying - Josh White
9. The Death of Queen Jane - Bascom Lamar Lunsford
10. What did the deep blue Sea say - Cisco Houston
11. Malted Milk Blues - Lucinda Williams
12. Ballad of Alfred Packer - Phil Ochs
13. The Intoxicated Rat - Ciscxo Houston
14. There's a Man going round taking Names - Leadbelly
15. Country Blues - Dock Bloggs
16. Little Birdie - Roscoe Holcomb
17. Sawanahana Tunnel - Bascom Lamar Lunsford
18. Wabash Blues - Mike Seeger
19. Spaceman - Phil Ochs
20. Please see that my Grave is kept clean - Dave van Ronk
21. There's a new World coming - Bernice Johnson Reagon

Download with graphics MP3 192-224 VBR
from Mega NZ